Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Canning tomatoes

Washing tomatoes

One of Mom's plans for the week was to have her girls help her can tomatoes. Monday morning Julie and I picked blueberries, but in the afternoon all of us girls canned tomatoes. Even Lauren arrived in time to peel tomatoes. Mom spent the afternoon selling blueberries and sweet corn at the market with Logan, while we girls put up fifty-four quarts and four pints of stewed tomatoes.

Sterilizing jars

Blanching tomatoes

Cooling tomatoes

Peeling tomatoes

...and peeling

...and peeling

...and peeling

Fastening lids

Jars of tomatoes waiting to be processed in the pressure canner

Monday, August 30, 2010

Blueberry fingers

As blueberry season near the end, picking has become more difficult. We search in the middle of the bushes for clusters of berries previously overlooked. We sort stems, leaves and squishy berries from our buckets, and by the end of the morning our fingers are stained with blueberry juice.

Sunday, August 29, 2010


for he satisfies the thirsty
and fills the hungry with good things.
Psalm 107.9 NIV

Saturday, August 28, 2010


Green is turning to purple. Soon we will harvest clusters of grapes to eat and turn into juice and jelly.

Friday, August 27, 2010


Their days are numbered; Libby is trying to convince us to help her butcher them.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Tuesday, August 24, 2010


Sunday was our church's annual outdoor concert. One Sunday evening in the summer we set up chairs and sound equipment on the lawn, and then watch the sky for rain clouds. It was cool Sunday evening as neighbors and friends gathered. But there was no rain and it wasn't too windy, and we had a pleasant time making and enjoying music together.

Monday, August 23, 2010

Birthday balloon

Kaelyn gave her Grandma balloons for her birthday. Judith and the girls were up for a few days last week and helped us celebrate Mom's birthday.

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Very good

God saw all that he had made, and it was very good.
Genesis 1:31 NIV

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Friday, August 20, 2010


(The blueberry farm is open all day on Saturdays from eight-thirty in the morning until nine at night. These photos need no other explanation.)

Thursday, August 19, 2010


"I think God has something better for both of us than we would be for each other," Julie said, explaining the reason for the end of her relationship with Irvin.

Wednesday, August 18, 2010


The next best thing to having a camera lens yourself is having a friend who has the lens. My friend Bianca visited yesterday and we swapped lenses for a few minutes. I played with her macro lens, capturing butterflies and kitten whiskers, while Bianca focused on goat kids.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Bad berries

Why are the bad ones the most interesting?

Monday, August 16, 2010

Sunday, August 15, 2010


When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place...
O LORD, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!
Psalm 8.3,9 NIV

Saturday, August 14, 2010


Rather than planting petunias or marigolds, this year Libby planted zinnias and dahlias in the flower garden bordering the sidewalk. The last few years Libby has planted rows of zinnias in the garden beside the vegetables. The soil is better in the back garden near the lane, but having the flowers near the house allows us to enjoy their beauty right outside the door.

Friday, August 13, 2010

Boyfriend flowers

Irvin had never bought flowers until my sisters informed him that it was his duty as a boyfriend. Since then he's presented Julie with several bouquets. When he was visiting last weekend he purchased bunches of flowers for each of us girls and Mom from the farmer's market.

Thursday, August 12, 2010


After the coons destroyed Dad's first planting of sweet corn, Mom bought a trap at the hardware store and Logan succeeded in catching a couple of the thieving rascals.

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Bench seat

There are advantages to the old diesel truck.

Monday, August 9, 2010


Our family, at Sunday dinner, reflected in the base of the chandelier.

Sunday, August 8, 2010


I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen:
not only because I see it,
but because by it I see everything else.
~C.S. Lewis

Saturday, August 7, 2010


This year is a melon year. Every year Dad sets melon plants in the garden, but it's not every year that he harvests melons. We've had a warm summer with plenty of rain and the plants prospered and produced fruit. Before he sliced open a melon for breakfast, Dad posed in the garden with his harvest to document the melon year. This year is also a zucchini year...but that's a totally different story.

Friday, August 6, 2010


My nose almost starts to itch as I look at the field corn and Queen Anne's Lace that almost obliterate the barn in the background of this photo. This often photographed barn is located on the dirt road near our church building. Usually after the service some of us walk down the road and look at the farms, while we wait for the rest of the family to finish their conversations.

Thursday, August 5, 2010